IKEA Wireless Charging Alarm Clock: Features, Compatibility, and What to Know

The short answer: IKEA’s wireless charging alarm clock is the STENGRÖNSKA, a multifunction bedside clock listed by IKEA in Japan and China. It combines a wireless phone charging surface with three alarms, adjustable alarm volume and display lighting, a USB-C charging port, and temperature and humidity readings. It may suit someone who wants a clock and a phone charger in one compact bedside device. It is a less certain fit if you need verified fast wireless charging, magnetic alignment, or a product sold locally in the United States: IKEA’s published listing does not state the wireless charging wattage, Qi certification, or U.S. availability.

This article reflects IKEA’s product information checked October 12, 2026. IKEA’s Japan page lists the clock at ¥4,999, including sales tax. Prices, stock, and regional availability can change, so check your local IKEA site before planning a purchase.

What the STENGRÖNSKA does

The STENGRÖNSKA (product number 306.304.13 in IKEA Japan) is a low, rectangular digital clock measuring 16 cm long, 17 cm deep, and 3.6 cm high. The display keeps the time, alarm status, date, temperature, and humidity visible. You can choose a 12-hour or 24-hour clock format. IKEA says the case uses ABS plastic with at least 50 percent recycled material, and the front protection is acrylic.

The headline extra is the charging surface on top. Place a compatible phone on the clock, and an icon appears on the display when charging begins. A USB-C port on the back can also charge a phone or another device by cable. IKEA specifies that the USB-C power adapter used with the clock must provide at least 30 watts. The USB-C cable is included; the power adapter is not listed as included on the product page.

Alarm and lighting features

You can set three separate alarm times, which is useful when weekday and weekend routines differ or when more than one person uses the clock. The alarm volume has six levels. A nine-minute snooze gives you a short repeat interval, while a button makes the alarm status visible on the screen.

The display backlight offers three brightness levels. IKEA also describes LED strips beneath the front and sides of the clock that cast light onto the surface below; these have three brightness settings. That may be useful as a subtle bedside glow, though it does not make the clock a full room lamp. If you are sensitive to light while sleeping, consider whether even the lowest setting works in your room and whether you can switch off the under-light independently according to the product instructions.

Which phones are compatible?

IKEA says to place a mobile phone on the clock to charge it wirelessly, but the product listing does not name the wireless standard, output wattage, supported phone models, or magnetic alignment system. Treat compatibility as something to confirm before buying. A phone that supports Qi charging may be a reasonable candidate, but the Wireless Power Consortium’s general Qi compatibility statement applies to products certified for Qi. The IKEA listing itself does not identify this clock as Qi-certified, so the certification should not be assumed from the phrase “wireless charging.”

If you have an iPhone, Apple’s support guidance says compatible iPhones can charge with Qi-certified charging accessories. Samsung also documents wireless charging for supported Galaxy devices. Those phone-side capabilities do not establish that a particular clock is a certified or optimal charger. Look for the clock’s standard and charging details on the packaging, manual, or local IKEA product page, and check the Wireless Power Consortium database if a Qi certification ID is provided.

For a practical check, remove thick cases, metal plates, card holders, or magnetic accessories and center the phone on the charging area. The charging icon is the clock’s indication that power transfer has begun. If the icon does not appear, reposition the phone and check that wireless charging is enabled and supported on the handset. Do not leave an incompatible item on the charging surface: IKEA warns that its display icon and lower lights flash when a non-chargeable item is placed there, and instructs users to remove it to avoid dangerous heat generation.

Charging speed and heat: what IKEA does not specify

The 30-watt requirement belongs to the external adapter for the clock’s USB-C connection. It is not a published rating for the clock’s wireless phone charging output. That distinction matters: the adapter’s capacity should not be interpreted as the phone’s wireless charging speed. IKEA’s product page provides no confirmed wattage for wireless charging, so it is not possible to compare its speed with a dedicated fast wireless charger from the listing alone.

IKEA also notes that the clock becomes warm during wireless charging and that this can temporarily affect the temperature shown on the display. If the room-temperature reading is important to you, take it when the clock is not charging and has had time to cool. The clock’s sensor is built into the same compact device that can generate heat during charging, so the displayed reading may not represent the room perfectly at all times.

Power and backup batteries

The clock runs from the included USB-C cable and a power adapter. Two AAA batteries are optional and sold separately. They preserve the time and alarm settings during a power outage, but they do not power the clock. That means the display and normal clock functions should not be expected to keep running from the backup cells alone. If you rely on this clock to wake you for work or travel, connect it to a stable power source and consider how you will handle an outage.

Who should consider it?

  • Consider it if you want one bedside object to show the time, provide multiple alarms, display basic temperature and humidity readings, and charge a compatible phone.
  • Check first if you need a particular wireless charging standard, a guaranteed power output, or magnetic positioning for a MagSafe-style phone setup.
  • It may not fit if you need the clock to run on batteries during outages, want a separate high-accuracy room sensor, or need confirmed U.S. purchase and warranty support.
  • Compare alternatives if charging speed matters more than combining functions. A separate, certified charger may provide clearer compatibility and output specifications, paired with an alarm clock chosen for its display and sound.

Before you buy: a quick checklist

  1. Search your local IKEA site for “STENGRÖNSKA” and confirm the product is sold in your country.
  2. Check the listed price, stock, return terms, and the product number for your market.
  3. Confirm the wireless standard and phone compatibility from the current packaging or manual; do not infer Qi certification unless it is stated.
  4. Plan for a USB-C power adapter rated at least 30 W, as IKEA specifies for the clock’s wired charging port.
  5. Decide whether three alarms, the nine-minute snooze, adjustable lighting, and temperature and humidity readings match your routine.
  6. Buy two AAA backup batteries only if you want settings retained during a power interruption; they do not run the clock.

Bottom line

The IKEA STENGRÖNSKA is more than a basic alarm clock: it brings together three alarms, adjustable sound and lighting, a phone charging surface, USB-C output, and indoor temperature and humidity displays. The clearest limits are equally important. IKEA does not publish the wireless charging wattage or identify a charging certification on the product page, its backup batteries preserve settings rather than power the unit, and the product’s availability is regional. If those details meet your needs and your phone’s compatibility is confirmed, the all-in-one bedside format may be convenient. If you need fast, certified, or magnetic charging, verify those specifications before purchasing or choose a dedicated charger with explicit ratings.

Sources

Leave a Comment

Japan Data Breaches at Major Firms: What Users Need to Know

Japan Data Breaches at Major Firms: What Users Need to Know

A practical guide to Japan’s recent company data-breach notices: what Lawson confirmed, how to secure reused accounts, spot phishing, and monitor your finances.

Samsung Galaxy: What to Know Before Choosing Your Next Phone

Samsung Galaxy: What to Know Before Choosing Your Next Phone

Compare Samsung Galaxy A, S, and Z phones by budget, size, cameras, foldable design, storage, and software support before choosing your next phone.

Cash App Investing Data Leak Lawsuit: What Users Need to Know in 2026

Cash App Investing Data Leak Lawsuit: What Users Need to Know in 2026

The Cash App security settlement is approved, claims are closed, and payments are scheduled for October 2026. Learn what was exposed and what to do next.

How to See and Photograph the Aurora Australis: A Practical Guide

How to See and Photograph the Aurora Australis: A Practical Guide

Plan an aurora australis outing with realistic forecast checks, location trade-offs, camera settings, smartphone options, and safety tips for southern skies.

NASA Curiosity’s Mars Dawn Image Reveals Wind-Carved Cliffs—Here’s What It Shows

NASA Curiosity’s Mars Dawn Image Reveals Wind-Carved Cliffs—Here’s What It Shows

Explore NASA Curiosity’s newly released Mars dawn panorama, its mysterious yardangs, unusual blue tones, and what scientists still need to learn.

How a Hurricane Watch Works: What to Do Before Conditions Change

How a Hurricane Watch Works: What to Do Before Conditions Change

Learn what a hurricane watch means, how it differs from a warning, and what to do next to protect your household, prepare to evacuate, or shelter safely.

How to See the Aurora Borealis: Forecasts, Best Times, and Viewing Tips

How to See the Aurora Borealis: Forecasts, Best Times, and Viewing Tips

Learn how to read NOAA aurora forecasts, choose a dark and clear viewing spot, time your outing, and decide when to wait or change plans.

New Jaguar Electric Car: Type 01 Features, Range and What to Expect

New Jaguar Electric Car: Type 01 Features, Range and What to Expect

Explore Jaguar’s newly unveiled Type 01 electric GT, its range estimates, charging claims, key features, planned arrival, and details buyers should verify.

OpenAI Mathematics: What the New AI Math Capability Means

OpenAI Mathematics: What the New AI Math Capability Means

Understand OpenAI’s October 2026 math research release, Lean proof checking, model-access limits, and practical implications for learners and researchers.

Jaguar Type 01: What We Know About the New Electric GT

Jaguar Type 01: What We Know About the New Electric GT

Jaguar Type 01 is a production-bound electric four-door GT, not just a concept. See what Jaguar confirms and what U.S. buyers still need to verify.