Home
» Family
»
Free Things to Do in Chicago October 9–11, 2026: Verified Weekend Events, Museums, Markets and Family Activities
Free Things to Do in Chicago October 9–11, 2026: Verified Weekend Events, Museums, Markets and Family Activities
If you are looking for free things to do in Chicago from Friday, October 9 through Sunday, October 11, 2026, the safest way to plan is to separate truly confirmed 2026 events from attractions that are merely “usually free.” The list below uses organizer, museum, library and city sources that publish an exact 2026 date or a current operating schedule that covers the weekend. Events without a confirmed 2026 date are omitted.
Chicago in fall offers many no-cost ways to spend a weekend, from neighborhood park programs and library workshops to museum tours and public markets.
A practical example: how one free Chicago weekend could work
Illustrative example only: imagine a Chicago visitor named Maya planning the weekend with her partner, a 14-year-old niece and a parent who uses a wheelchair. They want one museum activity, one library or workshop stop, a family-friendly outdoor event and a market, while avoiding surprise admission charges. This is not a real trip report or a claim that every stop will fit every traveler. It is simply a way to show how the verified details below can be combined.
Maya’s first rule is to reserve the activities that actually require registration, then use drop-in park events and the market as flexible anchors. Her second rule is to check accessibility at the venue level rather than assuming that “free” also means every activity has the same accommodations. Her third rule is to use the exact event address in the CTA Trip Planner before leaving, because neighborhood events are spread across Chicago and some organizers do not publish a specific transit route on the event page.
At a glance: confirmed free events for October 9–11, 2026
Date
Free activity
Time
Age / eligibility
Reservation rule
Fri., Oct. 9
Creative Writing Workshop, Chicago Public Library, online
10 a.m.–12 p.m.
Adults 18+
Limited registration: required
Fri., Oct. 9
Día de los Muertos: Altar Making Art Workshop, Riis Park
3–6 p.m.
Teens
Registration link published by Chicago Park District
Fri., Oct. 9
Transilience: Chicago Trans Pride Festival, Eckhart Park
5–7 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Fri., Oct. 9
Jazz City, Clarendon Community Center Park
6:30–8:30 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Fri., Oct. 9
Campfire Horrors: Coco, Bosley Park
7–8:45 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Sat., Oct. 10
Early Bird Walks, North Park Village Nature Center
8–10 a.m.
All ages
No registration necessary
Sat., Oct. 10
Free gallery tour, National Museum of Mexican Art
9:30 a.m.
General public
Registration required; capacity not stated on source page
Sat., Oct. 10
Chicago Zine Fest, Harold Washington Library Center
11 a.m.–4 p.m.
Teens and adults; CPL also tags seniors
No registration requirement shown for the expo listing
Sat., Oct. 10
Indigenous Peoples' Day Celebration, Harrison Park
11 a.m.–4 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Sat., Oct. 10
Healing Arts Chicago Summit, Malcolm X College
Doors 10:30 a.m.; program 11 a.m.–4 p.m.
Age restriction not stated on city listing
Free admission; city listing does not state a reservation rule
Sat., Oct. 10
Write at CPL: Going Deep on Point of View
2–3:30 p.m.
Adults 18+
Limited registration: required
Sat., Oct. 10
Campfire Horrors: The Goonies, Commercial Club Playground
7–8:54 p.m.
All ages; film rated PG
No registration requirement published
Sun., Oct. 11
Sunday Market, Jefferson Memorial Park
9:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.
All ages
Free entry; purchases from vendors cost extra
Sun., Oct. 11
Fall Fest, Jefferson Memorial Park
11 a.m.–2 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Sun., Oct. 11
Chicago Latino Dance Festival, Humboldt Park
3–5 p.m.
All ages
No registration requirement published
Friday, October 9: free workshops, park performances and an outdoor movie
Creative Writing Workshop — online through Chicago Public Library
CPL lists a free Creative Writing Workshop from 10 a.m. to noon on October 9. It is open to adults 18 and older, requires registration and is presented online, which makes it useful if weather or mobility makes cross-city travel difficult. CPL describes the session as suitable for people writing poetry, stories, essays or memoirs, with no prior experience required. Because the library registration system tracks remaining spaces, treat this as a limited-registration activity rather than a guaranteed drop-in. Check the current listing in the Chicago Public Library online events calendar immediately before registering.
Practical action: if Maya wants a low-travel Friday morning, this is the first reservation to make. Since it is online, there is no transit step. For accessibility assistance with CPL web content or event information, use the library’s published accessibility contacts rather than assuming a specific accommodation is automatically attached to the session.
Día de los Muertos altar-making workshop — Riis Park
The Chicago Park District confirms a free teen workshop at Riis Park, 6100 W. Fullerton Ave., from 3 to 6 p.m. on October 9. Participants create a personalized altar using mixed-media materials. The organizer says teens may bring copies of photos of loved ones or pets, while other art materials are provided. The event page includes a registration link and identifies the age range as teen. See the official Riis Park workshop listing.
Accessibility and transport: the event page does not publish event-specific accommodations or a specific CTA route. The Chicago Park District maintains a Disability Policy Office and publishes accessibility@chicagoparkdistrict.com for accessibility questions. For transit, enter the exact park address into the official CTA trip-planning tools before departure.
Three Friday evening options with no admission charge
At 5 p.m., Transilience: Chicago Trans Pride Festival at Eckhart Park, 1330 W. Chicago Ave., runs until 7 p.m. and is listed as free and all ages. The Park District describes performances spanning dance, drag, music, circus, puppetry, comedy, live painting and other forms.
At 6:30 p.m., Jazz City at Clarendon Community Center Park, 4501 N. Clarendon Ave., begins with the Jazz Links Ensemble, followed by the Sabertooth Quartet. The event is free, all ages and scheduled through 8:30 p.m.
At 7 p.m., the Park District’s fall schedule confirms Coco at Bosley Park, 3044 S. Bonfield St., as a free outdoor screening through 8:45 p.m. The event is all ages and the organizer advises guests to dress warmly. The official October schedule is in the Park District’s Fall Into Fun 2026 announcement.
Saturday, October 10: nature, a free museum tour, libraries and major city programs
Early Bird Walks — North Park Village Nature Center
The most straightforward no-reservation outdoor option begins at 8 a.m. The Early Bird Walks listing confirms October 10 from 8 to 10 a.m. at 5801 N. Pulaski Rd. It is free, all ages and requires no registration. The organizer also says parking and entry are always free. Binoculars and field guides are available for free use after the Nature Center opens at 9 a.m., subject to availability.
Practical action: this is a good flexible choice when another reservation sells out. For a visitor using mobility equipment, check the specific trail conditions with the Nature Center before making the walk the anchor of the day, because the event page does not describe the accessibility of each trail segment.
National Museum of Mexican Art — free gallery tour
The National Museum of Mexican Art has a specifically dated free gallery tour on October 10 at 9:30 a.m. for Where Memory Lives: 40 Years of Día de Muertos. The museum’s official tour page says the program is free and provides a registration link. The page does not publish a ticket capacity, so the accurate wording is registration required; capacity not published, rather than assuming unlimited entry.
The museum itself is always free and is open Tuesday through Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., according to its visitor information. The museum is at 1852 W. 19th St. and lists the Pink Line to Damen or 18th Street, the #50 Damen bus to 19th Street and the #9 Ashland bus to 18th Street as public-transit options. Its accessibility page confirms a wheelchair-accessible main entrance, first-floor galleries, accessible parking spaces, free wheelchair and cane-stool loans while supplies last, sensory kits and service-animal access.
Practical action: for Maya’s hypothetical group, this is the strongest museum candidate because both the exact 2026 tour date and detailed accessibility information are published by the museum.
Chicago Zine Fest and library workshops
Chicago Public Library lists Chicago Zine Fest 2026 at Harold Washington Library Center, 400 S. State St., from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. on October 10. CPL describes an expo with more than 90 zinesters selling and trading zines plus library-hosted programming. The listing tags the event for teens, adults and seniors. Check the current details through the Harold Washington Library Center event calendar. The building’s official location page confirms Saturday hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., street parking only and extensive assistive resources, including accessible computer facilities, a videophone and an Assistive Resources Center.
At 2 p.m., CPL also lists Write at CPL: Going Deep on Point of View at the Richard J. Daley–Bridgeport Branch, 3400 S. Halsted St., through 3:30 p.m. It is for adults 18 and older and requires registration. Since CPL displays a finite number of remaining spots, label this limited registration and check availability shortly before booking. The branch’s official location page confirms an accessible front entrance and bathrooms plus an accessible parking space behind the building.
Indigenous Peoples' Day Celebration — Harrison Park
The Chicago Park District event page confirms a free, all-ages celebration at Harrison Park, 1824 S. Wood St., from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. on October 10. Tierra Colombiana Dance Ensemble is scheduled to present music, dance, storytelling and related programming. No registration requirement is published on the event page.
Healing Arts Chicago Summit — Malcolm X College
The City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events confirms the Healing Arts Chicago Summit at Malcolm X College, 1900 W. Jackson Blvd., on October 10. Doors open at 10:30 a.m.; programming runs from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.; admission is free. The city listing does not state an age restriction or reservation requirement, so do not invent one. Recheck the official DCASE page before going in case the organizer posts updated entry instructions.
Campfire Horrors: The Goonies — Commercial Club Playground
For an evening option, the Park District confirms The Goonies at Commercial Club Playground, 1845 W. Rice St., on October 10. The page lists 7 to 8:54 p.m., $0 admission, all ages and a PG rating. The movie is closed-captioned. The organizer notes that the start time is approximate because outdoor movies begin at dusk.
Sunday, October 11: a market, fall festival and Latino dance
Sunday Market at Jefferson Memorial Park
The Sunday Market at Jefferson is confirmed for October 11 from 9:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at 4822 N. Long Ave. The Park District lists the event fee as $0 and the age range as all ages. Vendors sell produce, meats, baked goods, dairy, prepared foods and specialty items. This means entry is free, but shopping is not. That distinction matters when searching for “free markets in Chicago.”
Fall Fest at Jefferson Memorial Park
The same park hosts a confirmed Fall Fest from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. The event is free and all ages, with arts and crafts, a Halloween costume swap, pumpkins and other fall activities. Because the market overlaps with Fall Fest, a family can combine both without another cross-city trip.
Chicago Latino Dance Festival — Humboldt Park
The weekend closes with the Chicago Latino Dance Festival at Humboldt Park, 1440 N. Humboldt Blvd., from 3 to 5 p.m. on October 11. The Park District confirms $0 admission and an all-ages audience. The program is part of the 2026 festival and features multiple Pan-Latino dance traditions. No reservation requirement is published on the Park District listing.
Accessibility and getting around: what the official pages actually confirm
For the National Museum of Mexican Art, accessibility and transit are unusually well documented: the museum publishes wheelchair access, accessible parking, mobility-device loans, sensory kits and specific CTA routes. CPL likewise publishes building-level accessibility information for branches such as Harold Washington Library Center and Richard J. Daley–Bridgeport.
For the Park District events above, the individual event pages usually give the address, age range and fee but do not publish a complete event-specific accessibility or transit statement. Rather than guessing, use the Park District’s Disability Policy Office for accommodation questions and the Chicago Transit Authority trip-planning resources with the exact street address shown in each official listing. The same approach is appropriate for Malcolm X College when the DCASE listing does not name a transit route or event-specific accommodation.
Do not treat a missing accessibility note as proof that an event is inaccessible—or accessible in every respect. It means the event page does not publish enough detail to make that claim. If an accommodation determines whether you can attend, contact the venue or organizer before traveling.
What is not on this list, and why?
Some Chicago museums and attractions often advertise free days, but a recurring promotion is not enough for this specific article unless an official source confirms that it applies on October 9, 10 or 11, 2026. For example, the Field Museum’s published Illinois Free Wednesdays in October fall on October 7, 14, 21 and later Wednesdays, not this Friday-through-Sunday window. That is why it is not presented here as a free weekend museum option.
Likewise, a third-party event calendar can be useful for discovery, but it is not used here as the final authority for admission, ages or reservation rules. When the organizer has not published a 2026 date, the event is omitted rather than estimated.
How to use this list without getting caught by a sold-out or changed event
Reserve first: book the CPL workshops and the National Museum of Mexican Art tour before building the rest of the day around them.
Recheck same-day status: outdoor movies, park events and markets can be affected by weather or operational changes.
Read “free” precisely: Sunday Market has free admission, but vendor purchases cost money.
Check age labels: the Riis Park art workshop is for teens; some CPL workshops are adults 18+; most listed Park District festivals are all ages.
Confirm accessibility at the venue level: the museum and CPL branches publish detailed facility information; many Park District event pages do not publish event-specific accommodation details.
Plan transit from the exact address: where the organizer does not name a route, use the official CTA trip planner rather than relying on an old blog or an estimated “nearest station.”
For the illustrative Maya itinerary, a realistic no-admission Saturday might be the Early Bird Walks in the morning, the registered museum tour in Pilsen, then either a library event or the Indigenous Peoples' Day Celebration in the afternoon. Sunday could stay simpler: Jefferson’s market plus Fall Fest, followed by the Latino Dance Festival if the group is comfortable traveling across neighborhoods. The key is not to cram in every free event—it is to choose a few whose dates, rules and access details are actually confirmed.